Commentator Ralph Shaheen, Featured RPM Workshop Speaker

(Merrill, WI, January 19, 2016)  Motorsports commentator Ralph Shaheen will be featured speaker Tuesday morning, February 16, at the RPM@Daytona Promoters Workshop. Shaheen’s resume includes hosting broadcasts of Formula One, World Rally, Supercross, and MotoGP events.  He hosted the first live TV broadcasts of the NHRA U.S. Nationals, the World of Outlaws Knoxville Nationals, and the AMA Supercross Series. He is the co-owner of Turn 3 Media, which publishes the monthly National Speed Sport News Magazine, the National Speed Sport News Web site, and the Speed Sport radio and TV programs and he will talk with promoters about the changes he’s seen in the presentation and broadcasting of motorsports entertainment.

The RPM@Daytona Workshop, during Daytona Beach Speedweek following the Sprint Unlimited/Cup Qualifying weekend, offers sessions and panel discussions aimed at helping promoters increase car counts, ticket sales, and sponsorship.  Workshops presenters will include journalist Joyce Standridge, Mark Gundrum of the ARCA Racing Series, 39th Auto Racing Promoter of the Year Gary Howe, social media marketing expert Kristin Swartzlander, and marketing consultant Mike Lysakowski. Gundrum will talk with promoters about sponsor partnering strategies; and Standridge about weekly competitor concerns.  Swartzlander will cover the effect of Facebook algorithmic changes and offer alternative social media strategies, and Lysakowski will illustrate examples of why race track advertising should target a broader audience than established race fans. Two additional panel discussions helped promoters analyze the 2015 season and set goals  for the 2016 season. Track owners, promoters, racing officials, series and tour operators are encouraged to reserve credentials in advance; however, late entries are welcome at the Workshop, beginning at 4:30 p.m. Sunday February 14, 2016. A schedule of sessions and credential application can be found online at RacingPromotionMonthly.Com.

One of six nominees will be revealed as 40th Auto Racing Promoter of the Year Tuesday of the Workshop. Nominees are: The Leiby Brothers and Alan Kreitzer, Lincoln (PA) Speedway; Gray Garrison and the Hawkins family, Bowman Gray (NC) Stadium; Rich Farmer, Fremont (OH) Speedway; Dan and Scott Ratajczak, and Toby Kruse, 141 (WI) Speedway; Dan Robinson, Lucas Oil (MO) Speedway; Steve Beitler, Skagit, Gray’s Harbor (WA) Speedways. The Auto Racing Promoter of the Year, short track racing’s most prestigious award, was originated in 1976 and is the only national award for promotional excellence selected by peers, and the award is for the 27th year sponsored by Charlotte Motor Speedway.

The RPM@Daytona Workshop, convenes at the Hilton Daytona Beach, February 14-16, 2016.  Racing Promotion Monthly, the idea newsletter for auto racing promoters, is published year-round with the support of K&K Insurance Group, Inc., Hoosier Racing Tire.  The Workshops are produced with additional support from the INEX, Chevrolet Performance, Moffett Productions, Simes Graphic Designs, Raceceiver race communications, Lucas Oil Products, Sunoco Race Fuels, Advertising Edge, Firethorn Marketing, and IMCA.

More information is available from RPM at 715-536-1067, or on the World Wide Web at

Leave a Reply