Sevil’s Bowl Speedway Banquet of Champions set for January 30

RUTLAND, Vt. – Devil’s Bowl Speedway will officially wrap up the 2015 stock car racing season with the annual Banquet of Champions on Saturday, January 30, 2016.  The event will again be hosted at the Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington in Rutland, Vt., and will feature top drivers from the asphalt 1/2-mile oval and the 3/10-mile dirt track.

Vince Quenneville Jr. of Brandon, Vt. leads the list of asphalt champions from the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series presented by Yandow Sales & Service and John Deere.  Quenneville topped the Bond Auto Parts Modifieds and will be joined on stage by fellow champions Josh Masterson of Bristol, Vt. in the Central Vermont Motorcycles Late Models, Robert Gordon of Milton, Vt. in the Brileya’s Chrysler-Jeep Renegades, and Chris LaVair of Gabriels, N.Y. in the Portland Glass Mini Stocks.

In the Berlin Optical Expressions Dirt Track Series, Kenny Tremont Jr. of West Sand Lake, N.Y., won the title in the Liberty Street Discount Beverage & Deli Sportsman Modifieds.  Darrell Older of Ballston Spa, N.Y. topped the Renegades while Brian Bishop of Bridport, Vt., took the Portland Glass Mini Stock title. In the Enduro Series, which held events on both surfaces, Brett Wood of Georgia, Vt. won his first championship.

Top finishers in the championship point standings in all divisions will also be recognized, and four drivers will collect Rookie of the Year honors in the asphalt divisions.  Bob Kilburn of Fair Haven, Vt. won that title in the Modifieds and will be joined by Richard Lowrey III of Charlotte, Vt. in the Late Models, Matt Monaghan of Colchester, Vt. in the Renegades, and Bradley Bertrand of Ferrisburgh, Vt. in the Mini Stocks.

In addition, several special annual awards will be presented including Sportsmanship and Most Improved Driver laurels.  Bonus awards will be presented on behalf of Bond Auto Parts, Five Star Race Car Bodies, Shiley Fabrication, Crazy Horse Racing, the University of Northwestern Ohio, and NASCAR.

Winners of Devil’s Bowl Speedway’s highest annual honors will also be named, including the Award of Excellence, the Dedication Award, and the top trophy, the John Bruno Award, presented to those who have made significant lifetime contributions to racing while maintaining high standards of conduct and respect on and off the track.  Past winners include Barbara Quenneville & Vince Quenneville Jr., the late Leon Gonyo, and Mike Bruno.

Tickets for the Banquet of Champions are now available at $45 for adults and $25 for kids age 12 and under.  To order, contact Justin St. Louis at (802) 355-3282; tickets must be ordered by Friday, January 22.

Devil’s Bowl Speedway is located on Route 22A in West Haven, Vt., four miles north of Exit 2 on U.S. Route 4.  For more information, visit or call (802) 265-3112.  Devil’s Bowl Speedway is on Facebook at and on Twitter and Instagram at @DevilsBowlSpeed; follow the action using the #DevilsBowl hashtag.

Leave a Reply